Krushers Women first win

The Oakleigh AFC Women’s had their first win even though it was a practice match. After a lack lustre first quarter, the Krushers redeemed their confidence and when onto win the match 4-9-33 to Ormond AFC 3-3-21. 26 out of 30 players participated for most of the game in front of a few dozen spectators.

Vale – Jack Gubbins

Jack Gubbins – 1929 – 2017

It is with great sadness to announce the recent passing of Jack Gubbins who played with Oakleigh YCW/Oakleigh Sacred Heart. Jack also coached and captained the seniors and reserves throughout the sixtes and early seventies for a total of 445 games. Jack was inducted into the Oakleigh Krusher’s Hall of Fame in 2012. The Committee and members wish to extend their condolences to Pat and family.

Womens Football at Oakleigh



Krusher girls with Ann Barker and mascot Lily Chapple

Just some of the women who are eager to adorn the Krusher Guernsey met with Vice President Ann Barker to discuss the next steps on playing for season 2017. There were 18 that are interested with many  more expressing interest. Further details of summer training will be announced in the near future.

Committee for Season 2017

The club would like to announce the 2017 committee with Barry Alexander as President for his 33rd season, ex Oakleigh MP and parliamentarian Ann Barker as Vice President, Head Trainer John Bromley as Secretary, current player Nick Seel as Treasurer and Dan Hogan continuing with the Football Operations.

The club is looking forward to 2017 with a women’s team playing in VAFA and Jamie Mollo coaching the Seniors in VAFA Division 1 as well and Chris White coaching the Under 19’s.

Presentation 2016


The Krushers B&F was held at Merrimu Receptions on 29th September 2016. The winners announced with the Senior Captain Dermot Cleary and wingman Pat Ioannidis tying for 1st with Tim Doherty claiming third. The Reserves  finished with Chris Grant for 1st and close second is Andrew Murray followed by Josh Abela. The young Under 19’s winner is Corey Moore closely followed by Dylan Goodwill and Kevin Baras for third. The club awards went to Peter Ciavarella for Club Person, the Krusher Khronicle medals were handed to Kevin Holden and Josh Revere. Barry Alexander awarded the Presidents Trophy to Mark Chapple & Family and a shocked Lyn Chapple received Life Membership.


Pat Ioannidis


Dermot Cleary


Chris Grant


Corey Moore







krushers-womens-teamOakleigh Amateurs have announced plans for a senior women’s team for season 2017, possibly in the VAFA’s new womens competition. Cassie and Jordan Bethune (pictured right), who are currently coaching the Oakleigh Dragons girls, have both signed on along with another 8 players and the club is looking for more. Anyone who might be interested in getting involved in this exciting development in local football can contact Pat Heverin on 0402905198 or go to the club website at and leave a message.There are some exciting times ahead for the Krushers despite being relegated to D1 section. Along with the new women’s team there will be new facilities with $2.7 million allocated to improvements at Scammell Reserve with a ground upgrade and, possibly, a whole new pavilion among the major works being discussed.

The club presentation night is on at Merrimu Receptions on September 29th and the AGM will be on October 13th.

Vale – Helen Podesta

After a short and sudden illness, passed away peacefully on the 16th of February 2016 with her loving family by her side.

Adored mother to Kerri, Maree, James, Martin and Matthew.

The Committee, Members, Players and Supporters of the Oakleigh Amateur Football Club wish to extend their deepest sympathies to the entire Podesta clan in this sad time.


Vale – Bernard Byrden

Bernard Byrden 1989It is with great sadness that Bernard more affectionately known as Bomber had passed away on Saturday night battling cancer, his family was by his side throughout.

Bomber started playing at the tender age of 10 in 1974 with Oakleigh Sacred Heart FC under 13’s to 1991 as a senior player. After playing 107 junior games he played 100 senior games as a ruckman/centre half forwardwinning the club 1990 goal kicking . Bomber continued to play senior footy with Oakleigh Amateurs in 1992, winning the inaugural Best and Fairest that year but after 3 more games in 1994, injury was an influence to his early retirement.

5/6/63 – 9/1/16



It is with deep regret that we pass on the very sad news of the sudden death of one of the great “Krushers”. Graeme was killed tragically on Friday in a car accident. Dianne was injured but is OK. Our thoughts and prayers are with Dianne and the family at this time. He will truly be missed.

RIP Old Timer.

Here is a link with more details


Award Winners 2015

The award winners for 2015 season.

Luke Pappon

Luke Pappon

Corey Moore

Corey Moore

Borland & Wines

Shane Borland & Stuart Wines

Chris Mercuri

Chris Mercuri


Award Seniors Reserves Under 19
Best & Fairest Shane Borland & Stuart Wines Chris Mercuri Corey Moore &     Luke Pappon
Runner Up  No Award Josh Revere  No Award
3rd B&F Aaron Cloke Chris Grant Chris Pearson
Most Consistent Pat Ioannidis Tom Nolan Zac Barrett
Goalkicking Aaron Cloke 77 Jake Benoiton 31 Anmol Malhotra 42
Coach’s No Award No Award No Award
Best Team Player Rob Holden Aaron Paisley Ryan Henderson
Most Courageous Trevor Bromley Adam Matthieson Ankush Malhotra
Most Determined Liam Gillard James Faranda Scott Murray
Most Improved Liam Hard Jack Van De Ven Scott Johnstone
Best First Year Player Jack Davison No Award No Award
Key Performance Indicators Stuart Wines No Award No Award
Best Player in Finals No Award No Award No Award
BOG in Grand Final No Award No Award No Award
Section B&F No Recipient No Recipient No Recipient
Section Goalkicker Aaron Cloke 77 No Recipient No Recipient
Grand Final BOG No Award No Award No Award
State Rep No Recipient    
Club Person Bernie Greely    
Life Achievement Mark Coppock    
Presidents Paul Nikakis    
Krusher Khronicle Medal Stuart Wines    
Life Membership No Recipient    
VAFA Rising Star Nominee No Recipient